The Westin Seattle

1900 5th Ave

Seattle, WA 98101

206-728-1000

 https://www.starwoodmeeting.com/events/start.action?id=1512149854&key=17BDB6C7.

 REGISTRATION COMING SOON

 

What is the Highway Safety Manual?

The Highway Safety Manual (HSM) introduces a science-based technical approach that takes the guesswork out of safety analysis. The HSM provides tools to conduct quantitative safety analyses, allowing for safety to be quantitatively evaluated alongside other transportation performance measures such as traffi c operations, environmental impacts, and construction costs.

Learn More About the Highway Safety Manual 

Visit http://www.highwaysafetymanual.org for more information

Order Your Copy Today!
Order Your Copy Today  
 

Subcommittee Charge

The subcommittee shall promote AASHTO’s safety goal of reducing highway fatalities by half in the next two decades; Promote the benefits of State Strategic Highway Safety Plans and the Highway Safety Manual; Work on technical issues such as developing, updating or commenting on various highway manuals, plans, and programs to improve safety; Assist in the delivery & evaluation of safety counter measures; Promote research to develop new safety counter measures; Recommend new policies for the Standing Committee to enact; Support the Standing Committee in reviewing Federal guidance, regulations, legislation, and programs; Assist with nominations and scoring of the AASHTO Safety Leadership Award.

Membership

Each member department may appoint up to three members to the Subcommittee;

Although only one vote per Member Department may be cast on voting matters.

Associate membership on the Subcommittee is open to Federal, state, local, and international government agencies with current membership in AASHTO. Associate members shall have all rights and privileges of membership except that they will serve ex-officio without the right to vote.

To ensure consistency and foster better ideas the subcommittee shall work cooperatively, as appropriate, with other AASHTO technical committees.

Guidelines and Operating Procedures

Leadership Team

  • Chairperson - James A. Barna
  • Vice Chairperson - Sandra Larson
  • Secretary - Keith Sinclair 

 

AASHTO Staff Liaison

Kelly Hardy - khardy@aashto.org

 

Committee Name: Subcommittee on Safety Management
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Barna, James A. Jim.Barna@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Chair Non-Voting
Larson, Sandra Q. sandra.larson@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Vice Chair Non-Voting
Sinclair, Keith W. keith.sinclair@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Secretary Non-Voting
Hardy, Kelly K. khardy@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Sablan, Kevin ksablan@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
TenEyck, Rosemary J. rteneyck@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Barnett, Timothy E barnettt@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Benifield, Waymon benifieldw@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kramer, Tammy tammy.kramer@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Non-Voting
Walker, Matt matthew.walker@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Voting
Kar, Kohinoor kkar@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Voting
Aglan-Swick, Mona maglan-swick@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Hanna, Maysa F. mhanna@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Voting
Brewer, Andrew Andrew.Brewer@arkansashighways.com Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Member Voting
Jones, Jessie Jessie.Jones@ahtd.ar.gov Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Member Non-Voting
Thornton, Kevin kevin.thornton@ahtd.ar.gov Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Member Voting
Peterson, Robert robert.peterson@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Schriber, Thomas thomas.schriber@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Scherer, Jeanne E. jeanne_e_scherer@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Cristalli, Joseph T. joseph.cristalli@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Ouellette, Joseph Joseph.Ouellette@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Weiser, Adam Adam.Weiser@state.de.us Delaware Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lewis, Carole carole.lewis@dc.gov District of Columbia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Hollingsworth, Lora B. lora.hollingsworth@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Santos, Joseph B joseph.santos@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Zahul, Kathren S kzahul@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Hiraoka, Sean sean.hiraoka@hawaii.gov Hawaii Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tobias, Priscilla A priscilla.tobias@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Steckler, Brad L. bsteckler@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Gent, Steve steve.gent@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Laaser-Webb, Jan Jan.Laaser-Webb@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Bortz, Chris CBortz@ksdot.org Kansas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Buckley, Steve buckley@ksdot.org Kansas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lovell, Tracy A Tracy.Lovell@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Voting
Magri, Dan Dan.Magri@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Renard, April C april.renard@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Stewart, Lauren lauren.v.stewart@maine.gov Maine Department of Public Safety Member Voting
Brunell, Duane Duane.Brunell@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Voting
Belz, Darryl darryl.belz@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Voting
Gianni, Thomas J tgianni@mdot.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Ward, Cedric cward@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Boudreau, Neil E. neil.boudreau@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Voting
Polin, Bonnie bonnie.polin@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Voting
Shaughnessy, Stephen shaughnessys@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Voting
Farnum, Kathy S. farnumk@michigan.gov Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning Member Voting
Hietpas, Jay Jerard Jay.Hietpas@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Helms, Daniel B. dhelms@mdot.state.ms.us Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Willis, James jcwillis@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Miller, John P john.p.miller@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Voting
Whitfield, William william.whitfieldjr@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Peterson, Roy RoyPeterson@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Waddle, Daniel J. Dan.Waddle@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Roads Member Voting
Mammen, Ken kmammen@dot.state.nv.us Nevada Department of Transportation Member Voting
Green, Craig A. cgreen@dot.state.nh.us New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Voting
Pillsbury, Michael P. mpillsbury@dot.state.nh.us New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lambert, William R. wlambert@dot.state.nh.us New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kuhn, David david.kuhn@dot.nj.gov New Jersey Department of Transportation Member Voting
Archuleta, Robert robert.archuleta@state.nm.us New Mexico Department of Transportation Member Voting
Julian, Brad brad.julian@state.nm.us New Mexico Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lacy, J. Kev jklacy@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Weinstein, David dfweinstein@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mongeon, Karin kamongeon@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Abrahamson, Chad cabrahamson@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
May, Michelle L. Michelle.May@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Member Voting
Beale, Victoria F. Victoria.Beale@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Member Voting
Holstein, Dave L. dave.holstein@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Member Voting
Smart, Harold hsmart@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Member Voting
Koenig, Linda lkoenig@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Member Voting
Bish, Douglas W. douglas.w.bish@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Voting
Holder, Anne P. anne.p.holder@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Voting
Costales, Troy E. troy.e.costales@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Voting
Shenk, Scott rshenk@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Voting
Rowe, Glenn C. glrowe@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Voting
Gray, Gavin E gagray@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member None
Rocchio, Robert robert.rocchio@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Member Voting
Dibiasio, Dan Daniel.Dibiasio@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Member Voting
Pristawa, Steven steve.pristawa@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Member Voting
Riley, Phil philriley@scdps.net South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Munn, Darrell munndb@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Harrelson, Brett harrelsodb@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Orsbon, Ben ben.orsbon@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Vandel, Andy andy.vandel@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member None
Dark, Brandon Brandon.Darks@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Voting
McDaniel, Darren V Darren.McDaniel@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Pence, Terry Terry.Pence@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Jones, W Scott wsjones@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member None
Miles, Robert robertmiles@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member Voting
Dupigny-Giroux, Mario mario.dupigny-giroux@vermont.gov Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Voting
Rasmussen, R. Robert Robert.Rasmussen@vdot.Virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Read, Stephen W. Stephen.Read@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Cole, Mark A Mark.Cole@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Milton, John C miltonj@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Dornfeld, Mike dornfem@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mays, Marsha Marsha.K.Mays@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lobert, Barbara E barbara.e.lobert@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kinsey, Chris J Chris.J.kinsey@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Szymkowski, Rebecca D. Rebecca.Szymkowski@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting
Carlson, Matthew D. matt.carlson@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Voting
Adkins, Jonathan jadkins@ghsa.org Governors Highway Safety Association Associate Member Non-Voting
Roberts, Brian C. broberts@naco.org National Association of County Engineers Associate Member Non-Voting
GAINOR, DIA dia@nasemso.org National Association of State Emergency Medical Service Officials Associate Member Non-Voting
Bush, Mark mbush@nas.edu Transportation Research Board Associate Member Non-Voting
Jones, Jessie Jessie.Jones@arkansashighways.com Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Friend Non-Voting
Evans, Monique R. monique.evans@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Friend Non-Voting
Griffith, Michael Mike.Griffith@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Friend Non-Voting
Alicandri, Elizabeth Beth.Alicandri@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Friend Non-Voting
Strickland, Erik estrickland@ghsa.org Governors Highway Safety Association Friend Non-Voting
Wentz, Roger roger.wentz@atssa.com American Traffic Safety Services Association Other Non-Voting
Weiser, Philip Philip.Weiser@dot.gov National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Other Non-Voting
Gunnels, Maggi Maggi.gunnels@dot.gov National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Other Non-Voting
Walsh, Marie B. Marie.Walsh@la.gov National Local Technical Assistance Program Association Other Non-Voting
Kleiner, Bernardo bkleiner@nas.edu Transportation Research Board Other Non-Voting
Windley, Scott windley@access-board.gov United States Access Board Other Non-Voting
​​

​​​​​​

​​

​​​​​​​​​​